subsubfonds MP/2/12 - Hardwicke-Griffiths Archive

Identity area

Reference code



Hardwicke-Griffiths Archive


  • 1935-1999 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

353 tapes

Context area

Name of creator


Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Recordings collected by Hardwicke and Griffiths. A significant portion of the archive comprises recordings by the BBC Concert, Northern, Northern Ireland, Philharmonic, Scottish, Symphony and Welsh Orchestras; the London Philharmonia; and the NBC Symphony Orchestra; but the archive also includes performances by Academy of St Martins chamber orchestra; Alberni Quartet; Amsterdam Chamber Orchestra; Athena Ensemble; Austrian Radio Orchestra; Baden-Baden Radio Symphony Orchestra; Bavarian State Opera; Beaux Arts Trio; Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra; Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra; Black Dyke Mills Band; Boston Symphony Orchestra; Bournemouth Sinfonietta; Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra; Brno Philharmonic Orchestra; Budapest Symphony Orchestra; Canzona Ensemble; City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra; Chicago Symphony Orchestra; Chilingirian Quartet; Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra; City of London Sinfonia; Consortium Classicum; Czech Philharmonic Orchestra; Czech Radio Symphony Orchestra; Detroit Symphony Orchestra; Dresden State Orchestra; English Chamber Orchestra; Finnish Radio Orchestra; French National Radio Orchestra; Gothenberg Symphony Orchestra; Haydn Orchestra; Helsinki University Chamber Orchestra; Helsinki Symphony Orchestra; Hungarian State Symphony Orchestra; Ivaldi Quartet; Koenig Ensemble; Kontrapunkte Ensemble; Los Angeles Philharmonic; Langham Chamber Orchestra; Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra; Leningrad Philharmonic; Liverpool Philharmonic; Locke Brass Consort; London Gabrieli Ensemble; Louisville Orchestra; London Philharmonic Orchestra; London Symphony Orchestra; Luxembourg Radio Orchestra; Madrid Symphony Orchestra; Mainz Wind Ensemble; Monte Carlo National Opera Orchestra; Musique des Gardiens de la Paix; Nash Ensemble; National Orchestra of France; Netherlands Chamber Orchestra; Netherlands Radio Philharmonic; Netherlands Wind Ensemble; NHK Symphony Orchestra; Northern Brass Ensemble; Northern Sinfonia; Nanyang Polytechnic Symphony Orchestra; Oslo Philharmonic; Paris Instrumental Group; Philharmonia Hungarica; Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra; Polish Radio and TV Orchestra; Polish Radio Symphony Orchestra; Prague Chamber Orchestra; Prague Collegium Musicum; Prague String Orchestra; Prague String Quartet; Royal Philharmonic Orchestra; South German Radio Symphony Orchestra; Sadlers Wells Orchestra; Scottish National Symphony Orchestra; Scottish Philharmonic; Sinfonia da Camera of Illinois; Slovak Chamber Orchestra; Smetana Quartet; Soulesco Quartet; Stuttgart Philharmonic; Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra; Swiss Festival Orchestra; Toulouse Capitole Orchestra; Turin Quartet; Ulster Orchestra; Vesvjyesk Kammerensemble; Vienna Ensemble; Vienna Octet; Vienna Wind Ensemble; Vienna Volksoper Orchestra; Villiers Piano Quartet; Welsh National Opera; Yorkshire Imperial Band; Zurich Pro Arte Quintet.

The most commonly featured composers are Elgar; Martinu; Sibelius; and Richard Strauss; but the archive also includes works by Arriaga; Atterberg; Bach; Bantock; Bar; Bartok; Bax; Beethoven; Berlioz; Berwald; Blacher; Boccherini; Boellmann; Borodin; Bracher; Brahms; Brian; Britten; Bruch; Bruckner; Busoni; Cherubini; Chopin; Clementi; Crusell; D’Indy; Delius; Dohnanyi; Dupre; Dussek; Dvorak; Enesco; Fauré; Fibich; Finzi; Francaix; Furtwangler; Giordano; Glinka; Gluck; Goldmark; Gottschalk; Gounod; Gretry; Grieg; Griffes; Handel; Haydn; Hummel; Ireland; Ives; Janáček; Kalliwoda; Koday; Krommer; Lehár; Liszt; Lloyd; Macdowell; Mahler; Mancinelli; Martinu; Massenet; Mehul; Mendelssohn; Milhaud; Moeran; Monteverdi; Moszkowski; Moussorgsky; Mozart; Myaskovsky; Oscar Straus; Palmgren; Poulenc; Prokofiev; Puccini; Rachmaninov; Rangstrom; Ravel; Respighi; Rossetti; Rossini; Roussel; Saint-Saens; Sallinen’ Schmidt; Schoenberg; Schubert; Schumann; Shostakovich; Singaghia; Sousa; Spohr; Stenhamar; Johann Strauss; Stravinsky; Szymanowski; Tchaikovsky; Turina; Vaughan-Williams; Vivaldi; Vorisek; Wagner; Walton; Weber, Widor; Wolf-Ferrari; Youmans; and Zemlinsky.


Further accruals are not expected.

System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places