subsubfonds MP/2/6 - Lewis Archive

Identity area

Reference code



Lewis Archive


  • 1947-1974 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

58 tapes; 17 discs

Context area

Name of creator


Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Recordings collected by Richard Lewis. The archive includes recordings from the Glyndebourne Opera Festival, as well as recordings by the BBC Northern and Symphony Orchestras; Casals Festival Orchestra; Cleveland Orchestra; Israel Chamber Orchestra; Jacques Orchestra; London Symphony Orchestra; New York Philharmonic Orchestra; Royal Opera House Orchestra; Royal Philharmonic Orchestra; and Victorian Symphony Orchestra.

Featured composers include Bach; Beethoven; Berlioz; Bizet; Britten; Dvorak; Elgar; Ferguson; Gluck; Goldschmidt; Janáček; Lutyens; Mahler; Martin; Mozart; Purcell; Reizenstein; Schoenberg; Schubert; Richard Strauss; Stravinsky; Tchaikovsky; and Tippett.


Further accruals are not expected.

System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

In partnership with Music Preserved, parts of the archive have been digitised and are available through the University of York Digital Library:

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places