subsubfonds MP/2/7 - Mackerras Archive

Identity area

Reference code



Mackerras Archive


  • 1935-2009 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

308 tapes

Context area

Name of creator


Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Private recordings of Sir Charles Mackerras, including performances by the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra; Basle Radio Symphony Orchestra; BBC Concert Orchestra; BBC Symphony Orchestra; BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra; BBC Philharmonic Orchestra ; Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra; Chicago Symphony Orchestra; City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra; Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra; Cologne Radio Symphony Orchestra; Czech Philharmonic Orchestra; English Chamber Orchestra; English National Opera Orchestra; Hannover Band; Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra; London Symphony Orchestra; London Philharmonia; Melbourne Symphony Orchestra; Metropolitan Opera House Orchestra; New York Philharmonic Orchestra; Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment; Polish Radio Symphony Orchestra; Royal Philharmonic Orchestra; San Francisco Philharmonic Orchestra; Scottish Chamber Orchestra; Tonhalle-Orchestra, Zurich; Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra; Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra; and Welsh National Opera.

The most commonly featured composers are Janáček; Mozart; and Wagner, but the archive also includes works by Bach; Bartok; Bax; Beethoven; Berg; Berlioz; Birtwistle; Bizet; Brahms; Britten; Cherubini; Chopin; Da Falla; Debussy; Delius; Donizetti; Dvorak; Elgar; Erba; Flotow; Glinka; Gluck; Gounod; Handel; Haydn; Humperdinck; Kodaly; Liszt; Mahler; Matinu; Meale; Mendelssohn; Nathan; Neilson; Orff; Puccini; Rachmaninov; Ravel; Rossini; Schoenberg; Schubert; Schumann; Shostakovich; Sibelius; Smetana; Richard Strauss; Stravinsky; Suk; Sullivan; Tchaikovsky; Tippett; Verdi; Vorisek; Weber; and Williamson.


Further accruals are not expected.

System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

In partnership with Music Preserved, parts of the archive have been digitised and are available through the University of York Digital Library:

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places