- 1578-1987 (Creation)
Level of description
Extent and medium
0.24 cubic metres
Name of creator
The ancient parish and church of All Saints, North Street was first mentioned in a document of 1166-1179 when the advowson was confirmed as a gift to Holy Trinity Priory. Following the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century the advowson passed to the Crown who retained it until 1868 when it was transferred to the Archbishop of York.
In 1548 there were proposals to unite the parish with St John’s, Ouse Bridge End, but the parish remained intact. In 1957, the benefice, but not the parish, was united with St Mary Bishophill Senior, and presentation to the united benefice was assigned to the Dean and Chapter of York Minster.
Though the site of the church is thought to date to at least Norman times, the church fabric is largely fifteenth century, incorporating stained glass from the fourteenth. The windows feature numerous religious and heraldic scenes, of which some are unique or rare in European iconography. Some of the glass was restored by J. W. Knowles of York in 1861. The chancel screens were made by Edwin Ridsdale Tate in 1906.
Immediate source of acquisition or transfer
Content and structure area
Scope and content
System of arrangement
Conditions of access and use area
Conditions governing access
Conditions governing reproduction
Language of material