subfonds YMS/3 - Yorkshire Branch of the British Medical Association

Identity area

Reference code



Yorkshire Branch of the British Medical Association


  • 1842-1958 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

Context area

Name of creator

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area


The British Medical Association was founded, as the Provincial Medical and Surgical Society, in 1832 (it changed its name to the British Medical Association in 1855). District Branches of the PMSA/BMA developed in various places during the early 19th century. The Yorkshire Branch was founded in 1842. In 1903, a new constitution of the BMA divided Branches into Divisions. Yorkshire Branch had ten divisions, of which York was one; other divisions were at Scarborough, Leeds, Bradford, Wakefield, Sheffield, Halifax, Huddersfield, Harrogate and Richmond.

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places